There’s a documentary currently in the works that is looking for funding through Kickstarter. It’s called Indie Game: The Movie. The makers sum it like this:

“Indie Game: The Movie is a feature documentary about video games, their creators and the craft. It examines independent game developers as a way to understand the medium and the theory behind video games. Throughout, the film focuses on the human side of the creative process, and the connections between game and game-maker.”

This is something I’m very interested in, and it’s the primary reason I read as many blogs and listen to as many podcasts as I do, so I was more than happy to help with a donation. They need $15,000 by July 20th, which is 11 days before my birthday – and they only have $4,800 now. So, as an early birthday present to me, why don’t you give them what you can? Think of it like this – $1 is less than a half of coke at the pub. $10 is the price of a book you may never read twice, and $30 is worth it for a DVD, being on the credits, and the general feeling of goodwill that you will have knowing you have supported the creative arts in a field you love. Did I mention they put you on the credits?

You can look at a sample of the film, and donate, here, and while the list of devs hasn’t been confirmed, they’ve won me over with Edmund McMillen from Team Meat.

You don’t have to stick to those milestone amounts, either. Just give what you can. Obviously save some money for food.



